Executive of the Year

Executive of the Year, Specialty Contractor, Keith Brubacher

Shana McMahon, Esq., of Jacoby Donner, P.C., presents Keith Brubacher as Executive of the Year in the Specialty Contractor category.

On Saturday, March 23, 2013, the Philadelphia Chapter of the Construction Financial Management Association presented Keith Brubacher, president of Brubacher Excavating, Inc., the Executive of the Year Award in the Specialty Contractor Category. The CFMA's criteria for the award were for nominees to:

  1. make recognized contributions to the industry through achievement, innovation and advancements, and quality performance by the corporation,
  2. be committed to the community,
  3. have made significant improvements to the corporation or increased market share during tenure; and
  4. support the DVMA through attendance/sponsorship and active participation.

Keith Brubacher and Family; Executive of the Year, Specialty Contractor

Keith Brubacher (second from right) with wife, Ronda, is joined at the award presentation by his brother, Myron (at left), with wife, Courtney, and dad, Ben (center), with wife, Joanne.

Keith's nomination was based on the company's overall quality performance in the five counties surrounding the Philadelphia area, as attested to by Brubacher's winning of two ABC awards as well as five other award-winning projects. Additionally, Brubacher's history of innovation in adding and adjusting its services when faced with economic decline was considered.

Under Keith's leadership, Brubacher reinvented itself to increase the diversity of revenue sources and grow financial strength. Keith noted, "We had to change or die, and change seemed less painful and less permanent."

The CFMA is an association of 8,000 construction financial professionals who support the construction industry. The organization consists of 87 chapters across the United States. The Philadelphia chapter is one of the oldest and largest with 180 members. Awards are given annually to a CEO from a general contractor and specialty contractor. This year's winner of the General Contractor category was Jerry Gorski, president and CEO of Gorski Engineering, Inc., Collegeville, PA.